TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: 69 Fastback Critique
one4house Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:57 pm

http://www.thesamba.com/vw/classifieds/detail.php?id=1692123

I have been keeping an eye on this one for a bit. I am still a few months away from an actual purchase, but I was wondering what others thought of this one?

I know my Squarebacks and Beetles. I'm new to the fastbacks. What is right and what is wrong with this car? Why do some 69's have blinkers on the fenders by the doors and others do not?

I see a rust free car in need of some work. What do you guys see?

Max Welton Sun Nov 30, 2014 5:02 pm

It's got possibilities. Somebody put some nasty old carburetors on it.

:wink:

Max

one4house Sun Nov 30, 2014 5:05 pm

Max Welton wrote: It's got possibilities. Somebody put some nasty old carburetors on it.

:wink:

Max

That can be fixed. I know a guy that knows a thing or two about modern FI on type 3 cars. :)

one4house Sun Nov 30, 2014 5:07 pm

Speaking of the carbs,I wonder if those are Dell's, Weber's or hpmx? I'm pretty good with the Dell's after messing with the ones in my 70.

Donnie strickland Sun Nov 30, 2014 6:42 pm

The side markers were a European market thing, but some people added them later to US market cars.

I can't tell much about it, but what I can see in the pictures, looks pretty solid. Missing the frunk seal and dash, but those are easy fixes as you know.

one4house Sun Nov 30, 2014 6:47 pm

Donnie strickland wrote: The side markers were a European market thing, but some people added them later to US market cars.

I can't tell much about it, but what I can see in the pictures, looks pretty solid. Missing the frunk seal and dash, but those are easy fixes as you know.

Good eye. I saw the dash but missed the frunk seal. Another thing to add to the list of things.