TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: San Bernardino County, California library
Wasted youth Thu Dec 18, 2014 2:09 pm

Today, while visiting the Needles branch of the library, I took the opportunity to request the library purchase the following manuals, as none of these showed in the on-line card catalogue:

Bentley Baywindow Bus shop manual
Bentley Vanagon shop manual
and
Fletcher Gillett's Volkswagen Bay Transporter restoration manual

Can't say how this will turn out, but they had a banner asking for suggested reading purchases. :D

kreemoweet Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:42 pm

Your vote is as good as anyone else's, and maybe even better. Most auto repair manuals in my town's library are kept
"under the counter", due to an extremely high theft rate.

airschooled Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:48 pm

That's great! Keep us posted so we can ILL request them and steal them from you. :lol:

DenverB Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:55 pm

Nice! I'm actually a librarian myself and stuff like this is exactly what we like to see from the public: books you'll actually use! I personally have replenished our system's Volkswagen repair manuals, KYVWA books and got in six or seven copies of Fletcher's book too...

Made quite a few new friends when people come up to the reference desk asking for books on repairing an old VW, actually. There's a 15-year-old who got a bug from his uncle that is so jazzed up on it and he updates me all the time with photos.

shiningstar76 Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:01 pm

I can't say that I've ever seen the fletcher book. Should I own it?

Tcash Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:10 pm

shiningstar76 wrote: I can't say that I've ever seen the fletcher book. Should I own it?

New Bay window restoration manual.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0857332457/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

raygreenwood Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:30 pm

Tcash wrote: shiningstar76 wrote: I can't say that I've ever seen the fletcher book. Should I own it?

New Bay window restoration manual.