TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Daily Commuter
Fastlife1K Mon Jan 19, 2015 4:46 pm

Good Afternoon all,

I am new to posting to this site so a little backstory for yall...I have been commuting about 90 miles a day for 4 days a week for my job mostly all freeway miles. I have a 2011 Silverado but commute in my wifes old 2000 celica which has been great...I also have a sportbike i use occasionally. I have been making this commute for 6 months now (through Houston). Before this i was stationed in South Georgia and used only my motorcycle for my Daily Driver and used it for about 6 years...I have always wanted a bug and the wife gave me the greenlight to get one so i wanted some of yall experience on getting one as a daily driver. I was hoping for some helpful insight. I am very good with cars and mechanically inclined. I did all the work on my bike never taking it to the shop and I do all the work on our vehicles. My budget for the VW would be around 4k at first and mainly need to find one with a reliable engine...cosmetics i dont care about right now (except no rust). Im ok with no a/c (bike was hot).

so...opinions?

My name is Mike and I am 25. just got out of the Military in June.

gt1953 Mon Jan 19, 2015 6:58 pm

The first thing is Houston and Humid ad some Hot in. You can have a VW Type 1 or type 3 with A/C. for a nice commuter. Living in Houston that would be on the list as well as a realiable engine. For your 4K by a used Honda. Honestly with that long of a commute, that 90 miles is it one way or round trip?

[email protected] Mon Jan 19, 2015 7:24 pm

Someone that likes to wrench are cars and has a backup a bug is a great daily driver. My bug is fun to drive something I haven't said about a vehicle since my 1968 Cutlass, but that was 1978 and it had a big engine, I went into the ditch a lot.