TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Color matching
stanthedog Sat Feb 07, 2015 3:14 pm

Can paint stores match the color on a car. I've got a 71 yellow ghia vert that the paint got scratched off in a few places. I don't think it's a OG color so matching by code probably won't work, also fading,oxidation and such. Don't really want to have to paint the whole car.
thank's for your imput.

Air-Cooled Head Mon Feb 09, 2015 8:40 am

Quick answer, Yes.
Here is the issue: You'll need to provide a sample to match from. Typically something like the gas door.
But depending on the location of the gas door, it may be more/less faded, oxidazed than the color you want, so it may not be as simple as it seems. You may have to leave the car itself as a sample. For this, you'll need a painter, not just a paint store.

raygreenwood Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:59 am

I match colors for a living across a wide range of industries....not automotive...but I know for fact that serious auto paint jobbers use roughly the same equipment I do...because the people who make the equipment serve the auto industry as well.

yes....a long skilled painter can "generally" match colors....but I quite trusting eyeballs many years ago because the parts and items I match colors for cost far more than any paint job on any vehicle.

Modern paint houses use handheld spectro-densitometers (some have bench top console models as well). They may have names on the side like DuPont or PPG...but the units are all made by companies like Gretag-McBeth or Xrite (which now owns Gretag).

The problem with color matching by eye and experience is that it has no way whatsoever to account for density...which is how deep the paint is applied (not all paints are opaque which is why that matters).....pigment size and reflectivity ...which is critical in a metallic or large pigment paint like reds and oranges...and somewhat critical in paints that use red and orange pigments within their mix.