TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: '66 Fastback Resto (Aus RHD) - I'm in Balls n' All! (Intro)
Fast-back Sun Apr 05, 2015 1:31 am

Hi team. OK, I did it, have purchased my first ever resto project and I'm diving in head first, balls out and with my eyes wide shut and have bought a rolling shell 1966 Type 3 Fastback project to sink my teeth into.

Yes I'm a noob, but a big Type 3 fan, my first ever car back in 1985 was a '66 Fastback - I have so many fond memories in that car, I drove the poor thing into the ground, having had it frequently in the air as a wild and crazy youngster. It was pristine when I bought it and a disaster when I sold it 4 years later! (I later saw it back on the road as one of the first Type 3 rats I ever saw).

So now I'm in the heartland of my mid-life crisis, 47 years young to be exact (and I should know better haha). My 4 year old son by chance is a mad VW fan. So to forge years of great bonding memories I stepped up and bought us a project, same year and model as my first car. See some pics below.

Now I really am jumping in here balls and all guys. I love to tinker, I have been described as overly cautious, penny pinching and conservative, I am not all that mechanical and have never taken on a project anything like this - but I think it's gonna be a blast! And if you're gonna do it, start with a VW being less complex than most I guess. The plan is to join the VW club (of Victoria, Australia), mostly restore it and enjoy it on weekends for years.

Some deets on our new ride:
• German built, Australian delivered (RHD) 1966 Fastback (no sunroof) - I guess that makes it a very early model, I much prefer the rounded front to the later shark nose style
• 1600 engine has been rebuilt already and came with the car, not installed (not the original engine which was shot apparently)
• Brakes have been redone
• New headliner has been installed