TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Buying first bus, do you think this is a good deal? Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Reaperman Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:37 pm

http://www.thesamba.com/vw/classifieds/index.php?alert+200309111353171065

Considering buying this van, its within my budget, and appears to be in fairly good condition...

but then again, im not an expert... this bus is twice is old as me... (i am 18, ive wanted a bus since as far back as i can remember :) )

i want this bus to give me at least 5 good years before the engine blows... or some problem like that (because of my aforementioned age, and subway isnt exactly the best-paying job)

also, it appers to be in awsome condition, exept for one thing...
https://www.thesamba.com/vw/classifieds/pix/210587.jpg
^--- now im sorry, but that door appears not just rusty, but ROTTEN... (can make out no other rust on the entire bus, which i find weird)

thanks for awnsering, and i hope you can help me not get ripped off :lol:

EDIT: if you need to know, im going for a daily driver bus, not some sunday collecters edition 8) )

PS. where can i find a good roof rack (preferably full length) and ladder, that will fit that bus, for a subway salary price? :-p

6d6vdub Sat Feb 07, 2004 9:54 pm

First things first. Do you live anywhere near the bus? Since your looking for a daily driver i definately recomend that you test drive it first. And look at it in person, look underneath the bus, underneath the mat up front and so on. Also the bus has pretty good looking paint but is a little rough around the cargo doors. You could always bring along a magnet and check for extreme use of body filler so you know if any cosmetic work was done with a body filler. Personally i don't think i'd pay quite that for a unoriginal bus. And as far as the ladder and roofrack....Your best bet is probably at the swaps. you have bulli brigade and other shows down in florida.

Friedpotatoes Sat Feb 07, 2004 10:28 pm