TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Valve lash help Page: 1, 2  Next
SoldierBoy18 Sun Apr 26, 2015 12:05 am

Ok for some im very new to this whole car thing and working on big engines.I need some help on setting valve lash but i need someone to guide me through it and actually be talking to me on the phone .Being on the phone makes things a lot easier for me to describe as well as the person helping .This is my first time doing this on a car the youtube videos have all confused me more (i have done so on go kart engines but a whole different ball game for me anyways) can someone plz give me a call at 6616745568 im up till 3 am my time (California time) sleep till 11am . any help is much obliged.

Glenn Sun Apr 26, 2015 3:26 am

http://www.glenn-ring.com/tech/valve_adjustment.htm

SoldierBoy18 Sun Apr 26, 2015 12:07 pm

Glenn wrote: http://www.glenn-ring.com/tech/valve_adjustment.htm
i started on valve one on cylinder one at tdc after doing that one at 006 i rotated it clockwise 180 At BDC and did the exhaust at 008 then rotated the pully till 2 was on it and not rocking then 180 degree's after that i set the exhaust 008 then so on and so forth

SoldierBoy18 Sun Apr 26, 2015 12:28 pm

Friend told me to set all of them at 006 but a guy on youtube said he likes to do his intake at 006 and exhaust at 007 ?

60ragtop Sun Apr 26, 2015 1:58 pm

.006. get a couple of different manuals and start reading. To many questions leads to information overload :wink:

SoldierBoy18 Sun Apr 26, 2015 2:15 pm

60ragtop wrote: .006. get a couple of different manuals and start reading. To many questions leads to information overload :wink:
yes it does i wish i had some manuals mines a 70s uo model engine

gt1953 Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:42 pm

Are you referring to the engine number as UO? If yes that would have been a type 3 engine case. Still set your valves at .006

eashc Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:51 pm

Get the how to keep a VW alive idiot book