TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Galley ports (plugs)
willarddaniels Mon Jul 27, 2015 8:07 am

Traveling from Idaho to southern Florida, I started dropping oil around St. Louis. Oil was spewing out of the 'flywheel observation window'. This 73 transporter lost about a quart of oil every 20 miles. I drove the remaining 1100 miles by repeatedly adding 5w20 before the dipstick read a quart low.

Just before the trip a friend dropped the engine and put in two gallery plugs because it was doing the same thing. He also inserted and jb-welded a brass plug over the crank shaft plug just to be sure. No, he is not a VW guy and I am pretty new to this. Now that I have moved I want to do it right. I am willing and probably should crack the case and go for a complete rebuild given the history.

I pulled the engine and didn't find obvious signs where the oil could be leaking. The lower left plug appears to have a slight crack along the seam but I may just be looking too hard. It will be pulled and plugged anyway. The main seal looked great. The brass plug that my buddy put in was resting on the shelf to the left where I placed it in the picture. I am suspecting it popped out and the flywheel flung it around until it found a resting place.

What do I need to do to ensure this doesn't happen again? Is the crank shaft positioned correctly? Other pics I have seen show it flush with the case.

Wildthings Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:58 am

Your buddy just forced a thin plug over top of the original cam plug? This isn't going to do any good at all.

My guess is that your rear main seal is leaking and/or the o-ring that fits up inside the flywheel. The o-ring is hard to see and often missed. Buy yourself a Sabo brand rear main seal from GoWesty.

If that is a fuel injection block, you should at least peen around the plug on the left side of the case in the picture.

Channing81 Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:11 am

You do have a crank oil seal don't you? I don't see it in the picture.