TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Different Alternator in place of a bad generator in my 66?
Evoloner Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:55 pm

I have a 66 Fastback with a aftermarket 1776 with a bad generator. I am looking for a replacement, and well they are not easy to come by (especially on a budget!) I am wondering if I can put a later model alternator/generator in place of the bad one. And if so or if not, what would you recomend? I know of the CB peformance conversion, and wont have the money for that for some time. Air coold nut has a good artical on a new style alternator replacement, and I was wondering if I did this, which altornator should I use and any other advise! Thanks in advance, I am pretty new to Type three and VW motors in general. Please be kind, LOL!

Bobnotch Thu Aug 13, 2015 9:19 pm

Evoloner wrote: I have a 66 Fastback with a aftermarket 1776 with a bad generator. I am looking for a replacement, and well they are not easy to come by (especially on a budget!) I am wondering if I can put a later model alternator/generator in place of the bad one. And if so or if not, what would you recomend? I know of the CB peformance conversion, and wont have the money for that for some time. Air coold nut has a good artical on a new style alternator replacement, and I was wondering if I did this, which altornator should I use and any other advise! Thanks in advance, I am pretty new to Type three and VW motors in general. Please be kind, LOL!

Is the car still 6 volt? Or has it been converted to 12 volt? This does make a difference.

Evoloner Fri Aug 14, 2015 8:28 am

I am not sure, I was looking at the Gene and it is a Bosch 311 903 031 J
and says 14V 30A 20 on it. I am pretty sure it still is 6 volt but again I am just guessing.

Bobnotch Fri Aug 14, 2015 5:55 pm

Evoloner wrote: I am not sure, I was looking at the Gene and it is a Bosch 311 903 031 J
and says 14V 30A 20 on it. I am pretty sure it still is 6 volt but again I am just guessing.