TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Newbie Looking for Help and Ideas (suspension, steering...)
mvrk10256 Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:34 pm

Been poking around a bit and looking to get some info.

I recently picked up this sand rail thats street legal. Its titled as a '64. 1600 dual port, single carb, 4-1 exhaust.

while I am an experienced builder, fabricator, and racer I have never owned anything VW or anything this old for that matter.

Questions...

1. Its a hoot to drive, but the brakes arnt great. It only has drums on the rear. I am not thrilled about it. Took a look online and for ~ $400 I can get a rear disk setup. Is it worth it? It seems to run front brakes I would need new knuckles, brake parts, and a different MC (single unit currently installed). Also I assume I would need a different style wheel, or something as well, since there seems to be no way to attach a caliper to the wheel. I would like to maintain the parking brake. What is my best bang-for-buck option here?

2. The steering wheel cuts into my thigh when I try to shift. the clutch is super far over to the right. I could probably fab something up to put the lever out to the left, but I would much rather raise the steering wheel. Is there any obvious issue with simply cutting the tube its bolted too and moving it up an inch or inch and a half? Wouldnt mind the wheel moving a bit further away from me as well. I am a competent welder so that is not an issue.

3. Could you guys ID some stuff for me? suspension type? frame manufacturer? ect? Also maybe point out some cool mods for a street biased rail?

Pics:

Thanks!

Dale M. Tue Aug 25, 2015 4:49 pm

As for steering wheel, I would not cut cross member, but maybe see how much room between steering shaft and cross member and move shaft up as much as possible or alternatively put it on top of cross member...