TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Why did VW Engineer the WBX? Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
vegpedlr Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:57 pm

I'm new to the VW world, so I wonder if any of you folks that have been round this for decades can answer why VW developed the WBX in the first place?

I understand early Vanagons carrying over the type IV air cooled engine, but when it was time to add a radiator, why didn't they use one of their inline fours? Or a variation thereof? They already had the inline diesel, so it could be done. It seems to me like it would be better to stick with an engine similar to others in the product line for parts, service, etc.

I like my WBX, but it seems strange to create a one off engine only used in one vehicle for 9 years.

zak99B5 Wed Sep 02, 2015 5:59 pm

vegpedlr wrote: used in one vehicle for 9 years.
That right there is pretty significant usage. Especially in a very popular model type.

Terry Kay Wed Sep 02, 2015 6:07 pm

In comparison to what?

9 years is actually a really short run for an engine.

Want to compare it to a small block Chevy?
1955 to current date.

VW took that suitcase engine & installed water jackets around the cylinder & under the head.

Saved money allegedly from developing a totally new engine.
Seems like a big joke to me when they did have a better engine selection available.

AtlasShrugged Wed Sep 02, 2015 6:24 pm

Interesting question. My guess #1 is VW was dedicated to staying with the traditional rear engine configuration. The 4 cylinder in-line gas/diesel engines VW had on the shelf were not exactly perfect for a Vanagon in the early days of production (1.5 liter, 1.6 liter and a 1.7 liter gas engines with around 60HP/70HP, tops) . And it could be a tight fit too. But most likely...