TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Rust Question
oceandive Fri Oct 30, 2015 8:51 am

Hey all. I was wondering if you could help me out. I am building a Baja and have been working on prepping the pan. Along they way I found some rust and would like to know what method I should use for repair. Something like All Metal, brush it over with POR15 and hope it fills, cut out the area and replace, fill in with weld etc.. I have limited knowledge and a small amount of fab skills, but with the internet and this not being a show car, any type of repair should be possible.

As you can see there is some surface rust that when grinding away shows pitting, but still seems structurally strong enough as I can stand and move around without going through.

This is the type of stuff I am finding on more affected areas. When using a pin its not hard to find the little holes all over the area. I realize this is not very much, but when searching the forums all it shows is people repairing areas, not "with this type of damage do this and with this much damage do that".

If you think I should post full pan pics to see if the rest is good enough or the whole thing should be replaced let me know. Thanks all.

Air-Cooled Head Fri Oct 30, 2015 11:37 am

Full pan pictures sure will help in making an assessment of what you got.

From these pictures, the rust isn't "that" bad. But I'm in the rust belt. Some folks on the left coast might deem that "beyond repair". :lol:

As you have "limited knowledge and a small amount of fab skills,,, and this not being a show car," here's what I'd do.

First, I'd wire wheel, wire brush the heck out of it; removing as much rust as I could. For those holes, I'd weld/solder/fill them however I could. (This thread could help with that: http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=629233&highlight=luggage+tray
Then spray w/ Rusto, or other brand rust converter, then paint.
That's if what you show is the bulk of it. If there is more, let's see.