TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: 1979 California Bus Distributor connector to harness questio
aeromech Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:02 pm

I just bought this distributor for use in a California 1979 FI bus that I'm switching back from carburetion. The problem is that the harness connector doesn't seem to fit the distributor connector and I've never worked with this before. Can someone please help me identify where my problem is?

skills@eurocarsplus Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:08 pm

looks to me like you have a GM weatherpack end on that harness.

I may have the correct end for that if you get in a jam. it's pretty much an early early early watercooled vw connector you need there

Bleyseng Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:11 pm

What is the part number on the dizzy as I have one of those sitting around with the connector

aeromech Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:13 pm

That's a nice offer Don. Let's see what the other guys say.

Clatter Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:15 pm

Ya, the connector on the distributor is correct.
That one on the module harness, not so much....

Vanagons had them, too, FWIW.

aeromech Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:17 pm

039 905 205 C

aeromech Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:19 pm

Clatter wrote: Ya, the connector on the distributor is correct.
That one on the module harness, not so much....

Vanagons had them, too, FWIW.

Yes, the $100 replacement distributor I just bought was actually from an air cooled Vanagon. The original had a broken plug in.

Wasted youth Wed Nov 25, 2015 1:11 am

Can you use the air cooled Vanagon male plug... as in cutting one off a bad/salvage wiring harness?