TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Removing Caulking From Exterior Door Seal Groove.
75Flamebug Mon Nov 30, 2015 8:21 am

Okay, I just need some friendly advice. So I bought this door from an air-cooled VW shop because my drivers side door is a 1967 and above door and the drivers side doesn't match my passenger side door. (I've gotta 1975 VW bug). So this is my FIRST time doing ANY body work to any vehicle. This is my first car and I want this project to turn out. I've got a friend that is coaching me on how to remove the brushed on paint and use buildup primer.

My problem is the seal grove that is caked with caulking that is soft on top, but then rock solid down below.

I need to get this gap all cleaned out so that way I can prime/paint in that grove as well. I've tried these things:

- 80 grit sand paper folded and put onto random things to get into the corners of the groove.
- Steel wool
- Paint thinner, sand paper and steel wool.
- Dremel with a cupped brush and a wire brush in the groove. But it didn't fit.

Has anyone dealt with this before and can help me clean out this track? Anything will help. If you've done this before and know what works, PLEASE let me know! :)

Air-Cooled Head Mon Nov 30, 2015 9:11 am

a couple of threads that may help:
http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=615603&highlight=adhesive
http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=627869&highlight=adhesive

But if you're encountering truly dry, hard stuff, you may have to chip it out.

75Flamebug Wed Jan 13, 2016 8:08 am

No, its soft and squishy. I ended up using 80 grit sandpaper. Its where the seal goes so no one will see it. I'm going to use a metal prep like Ospho to prevent rust. Thanks tho!

67rustavenger Wed Jan 13, 2016 1:35 pm

Ospho really won't work. Unless there is rust in the seal groove already. Ospho converts rust, not prevent it. Clean the groove to bare metal if you must and then epoxy primer over the metal.
Good Luck.