TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Learn how to work on your VW (SF Bay Area)
smithvisual Tue Jan 12, 2016 4:23 pm

My name is Carey, and I'm new to The Samba.

I am a graduate student working on a project to help people better learn about working on cars. Our team has a 67 Beetle, and so we've turned to The Samba for like-minded enthusiasts in the SF Bay Area.

If you’re looking for help with your DIY VW project, we want to help you connect with mentors. Our project coordinates 1-on-1 time with experienced VW enthusiasts that can help you accomplish your goals. We can help with general maintenance, repair, engine & chassis modification, and really anything you want to do. As a participant you pay a fee for in-person time with a mentor so that they can be paid for their time. fee's are roughly $30-$50/hour for in-person mentorship.

Your participation is greatly appreciated and we would ask to do a few brief phone interviews and possibly an in-person interview if you are available. these supporting interviews would help contribute to our research. If you have any additional questions about our project do not hesitate to contact us.

Here's a picture of our buddy Antonio with our Beetle when we got it back in May.

smithvisual Tue Jan 12, 2016 4:25 pm

All that description and I forgot to write any contact info. You can contact me at [email protected]

-Carey

TDCTDI Wed Jan 13, 2016 4:34 am

Lets see, graduate student, first two posts on Thesamba... Is someone supposed to pay you or are you asking for someone with experience to join in? It's a great out of the box income source idea though.

widefivebug Wed Jan 13, 2016 5:48 am

Seems to me this should be posted in classifieds services section. Correct me if I'm wrong, you are advertising to sell a service.

johnnypan Wed Jan 13, 2016 5:48 am