TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Summer of 2017 road trip
VW.parrothead Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:06 pm

Hello,

I am planning a cross-country road trip for the summer of 2017, when my oldest graduates from high school. I've been semi-planning since 2013, saving money, gathering info, etc. We are in Florida and would like to leave in mid-June, head out to California (north of LA), up to Seattle, over to Mt. Rushmore, down to St. Augustine, and home again - 8,000 miles in 45 days. I am also factoring in a cushion of an extra 1.5 weeks "just in case."

I am not new to camping or road trips, but this will definitely be something different. I will be buying AAA membership, spare tires, national park pass, etc. Most nights camping in van, some nights at hotels, so I'm researching campgrounds, reservations at Yellowstone, etc. I've also been reading the road trip stories in this forum.

Bus wise - my #1 priority is a bus that can actually make the trip with minimal issues, so I'm looking ones that have been gone-through, re-built engine, newer parts, etc. To quote a long-timer here, I plan to "spend more for the most complete, least rusty car I can find and afford." However, my "more" is not limitless. I will learn how to do repairs that may be needed, but I don't think I can rebuild an engine myself, or do a total restoration. I want to keep the bus in my garage (we have 80" garage door clearance) if possible, so I'm looking at tin top campers, and we will bring a tent.

Is this feasible? Any help, tips, advice, etc.?

Thanks!!

Q-Dog Sat Jan 16, 2016 4:10 pm

Make it your daily driver for a year. At the end of that year you should have it sorted out well enough to trust it for a long trip.

VW.parrothead Sat Jan 16, 2016 6:13 pm

Thanks, I plan to do that, which is another reason I want to narrow down the best bus type for us and this trip. We want to take it camping a few times and test it out so we get a feel for it's quirks.