TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Plz Help!! Seam rust floor pan under rear seat
dailyoliver Tue Mar 01, 2016 1:18 pm

Hi Guys.

I am a little freaked out because I have only had my bus for a year. Unfortunately what I found when checking the floor - required me to strip out the entire bus.

The PO had installed a chipboard layer 1" thick over the cargo panels. This was acting like a giant wet sponge - I literally squeezed a bucket of water out of it. It was covered by a layer of plywood, a rubber matting then a layer of linoleum - this sealed in the wet.

The worst affected areas were under the rear seat.

My question is what should I do - I can't seem to find these panels anywhere - what are they called and do I have to fabricate them?

Note: I do have a welder (having just completed a short night school college course).

Secondly - it's near the gas tank so does this mean I have to remove it, along with the engine & transmission (never done either before). I am new to all this and to be fair a little freaked out about it.

I guess what I am asking is - where do I start and what do you suggest I do?
I really appreciate any help or direction you can give. Thanks in advance, DO

Q-Dog Tue Mar 01, 2016 4:46 pm

I would suggest you figure out where the water is coming from and fix that first.

grtfldan Tue Mar 01, 2016 5:54 pm

cut out the rust out and make templates from the holes. make them about 1/2 in bigger so you have solid metal to weld with. after you cut out the metal round the edges. then stitch weld the panel in. A piece of copper behind the weld help to absorb the heat and helps with blowthru. thats a good area to learn in because its all hidden.

dailyoliver Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:20 am

Thanks for the feedback guys - well appreciated!

I think it was condensation soaking into the fibreboard? I will POR-15 the floor and cut these areas out - will post pics.