TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: 75 Beetle engine advice/parts for budget 1835cc or 1914cc build?
mackfrank9395 Mon Jul 25, 2016 2:43 pm

Hello! I am new to the Samba, Volkswagens, cl engines and especially air cooled engines. In a few days I will be the proud new owner of a 1975 Beetle. The car itself is rust free and very low miles. The engine.. Well a 40+ year old 1600 you know that story. I'd like to add a little "pep" back in this survivor. A little pep is an understatement actually. I am some what of a lead foot or speed demon if you will.. so I'd like something that is able to be comfortably driven and stable on the freeway cruising around 70mph and also agile and nimble enough for in town and twisty country back roads(lots in these parts). I'm not looking for a drag car or a red light mustang stomped so nothing too crazy is needed. I've been looking around and have come to the conclusion that a 1835 or 1914cc would be an appropriate fit for my vdub. Now the hard part. I have limited knowledge with engines and have never torn one apart. I don't know of anyone in my area that rebuilds these and my budget just simply doesn't allow for a professional build. I'd like to try it myself except for any machine work of course. What I need from you fine folks here at TheSamba is suggestions for parts and such with the information I've supplied above. Also I'd like some suggestions for the transmission as well. I'd like to achieve around 100-140hp to the wheels. I'd say my engine and transmission budget combined would be around $3500-$5000

Thanks in advance to any responses. Looking forward to your opinions. :D

All of this air cooled boxer madness is overwhelming to me!

gt1953 Mon Jul 25, 2016 3:34 pm

Don't forget to upgrade the brakes with that much power to the wheels you are gonna need to stop. On my one car I have 78hp to the ground out of a 1776cc. Works fine for me at 6500 feet elevation.

Danwvw Mon Jul 25, 2016 3:40 pm