TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Baja Bug Build(Just getting started)
Frankenbug1996 Wed Sep 28, 2016 2:05 am

This is my first time so get ready! FYI I like to keep my post organized and clean cut.. :oops:

Introduction
Over the course of the past year I have been really digging in to VW air-cooled engines and cars. My interest in the engines led me to acquiring an old 1200cc single port from my grandfather. I broke it down piece by piece learning the workings of it through old "Hot VW" magazines and catalogs. I have been blessed enough to have four VWs all '65 to mid-'70s laying around my Pawpaws house (he fights the same obsession we all do), along with a plethora of engines and parts. Of course the vast majority of these cars and parts are out of commission but it gives a good learning tool. I have gotten my brother involved in this obessesed state we call a hobby and he has taken great interest in it as well.

Our Goal
The goal is a simple one, make an offroad VW. We weighed the option of rebuilding one from scratch but have opted to buy a project already in the works (this decision is made easy when you can get a pretty good deal). The car we are starting with is in pretty good shape. It will be a much easier starting point than the original idea of flipping what was basically scrap metal.

The Car