TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: Looking at a '64 Notch Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Here2halcyon Wed Oct 05, 2016 11:54 am

I'm new to the type III. Saw this while cruising the inter webs.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/262647542523?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Never seen the motor configured in a notch this way. Any thoughts? Pros/Cons?

I know there are plenty here that are all about stock, which I totally respect, but this looks like a nice ride overall. No?

W1K1 Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:10 pm

just someone too lazy to build the motor right. No reason to not run the proper cooling, and still have a usable trunk. :roll:

Here2halcyon Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:22 pm

There must be another reason I'd guess. A great deal of work looks like it was put into the project.

Komissar Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:37 pm

I would say the builder liked the looks of the upright T1 engine with dual Dellortos.
Also some minor advantages:
- more space around the carbs. Easier to adjust and tune. Easier to change sparkplugs.
- The possibility of running taller air filters on those Delortos (they might even have a velocity stack in there), thus obtaining better airflow through the carbs than when using a Dellorto kit designed for a pancake engine.
- Longer intake manifolds - slightly better bottom end torque.
- I see the builder made a good job of isolating the lower part of the engine from the upper part. Thus, the carbs are receiving cold air. Dual aftermarket Weber IDF/Dellorto kits for the type 3 usually have air filters that by design suck in warm air from around the engine and exhaust.

sjbartnik Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:38 pm

Here2halcyon wrote: There must be another reason I'd guess. A great deal of work looks like it was put into the project.

I've seen tons of money/hours spent on crap work.

Here2halcyon Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:41 pm

sjbartnik wrote:

Could you be more specific?

W1K1 Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:07 pm