TheSamba.com Forums

View original topic: 1960 bus seats
crusty60man Fri Jan 14, 2005 8:50 am

So I'm a rookie. A green-horn. Wet behind the ears.
How 'bout some of you ol' "Masters of the Bus" cluing me in.
I am restoring a 1960 splitty bus and I am trying to ascertain the correct middle and rear seats for this bad boy.
I read some of the other discussions on seats, but they are not my year.
Anybody out there help me??? [/list]

EverettB Fri Jan 14, 2005 9:32 am

Here's a seat from a 1960 Deluxe Bus. Yours will be the same, except for different upholstery color if you do not have a Deluxe

BUCIOBATISTI Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:10 am

crusty60man wrote: So I'm a rookie. A green-horn. Wet behind the ears.
How 'bout some of you ol' "Masters of the Bus" cluing me in.
I am restoring a 1960 splitty bus and I am trying to ascertain the correct middle and rear seats for this bad boy.
I read some of the other discussions on seats, but they are not my year.
Anybody out there help me??? [/list]

Do you have a Standard, Kombi, or a Deluxe? That information will let us more accurately describe exactly what you are looking for. The year range I believe would be from 1958-1961 unless it's a Deluxe then it's 1959-1961.

Stanagon Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:26 am

Here's a picture of a Carmel Brown middle seat that would have originally been in a '59-mid '61 Standard, as I understand it. This seat would be correct in a Seagull Grey/Mango Green or Grey/Grey Standard.

Here's a picture of a '59-mid '61 Deluxe seat.

This picture shows one of the significant differences between the seats. The ribbed grab bar (for extra pleasure;), on the Deluxe seat.

Here is a picture I took of the seat in Mike Plicky's '60 Kombi with original interior. More pictures are in the Community>Feature Cars section on theSamba.

None of these seats are for sale at the current time. Hope this helps.

iodized Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:10 am