Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

preparing a frame for powder coating
Forum Index -> Body/Paint Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
dmercer
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:59 am    Post subject: preparing a frame for powder coating Reply with quote

Hello folks,

I have recently installed new floor pans in the frame of my Karmann Ghia and I plan to have the frame and front end sand blasted and powder coated. I've never done this sort of thing before and could use advice!

I have removed the rear spring plates. I assume that I should mask off the torsion bars to avoid damage from sand blasting. I have also disassembled the front end, removed the steering box, etc., and will mask off all the machined surfaces.

If anyone out there has done this sort of thing before or knows of some site/book that documents the process, I would be very glad to hear from you.

Best,

Dan M.
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Gallery Classifieds Feedback
ekimthemad
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well since I have been running a powder coating gun for 13 years I think I can take a stab at this. I would mark the ends of the torsion bars and pull them. Although I doubt the oven would hurt them I have over the years seen some springs completely ruined even at 400 degrees. I also know a lot of places run their ovens around 600 to try to get more parts done in a day. Pull them out and get as much grease off of everything as possible before it goes to the blaster.