Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

building my own sand blast cabinet - need opinions
Forum Index -> Body/Paint Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Rick
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2005 4:23 pm    Post subject: building my own sand blast cabinet - need opinions Reply with quote

I am a cabinet maker by profession so I would like to build my own blasting cabinet out of plywood. I would construct it in the same way as commercially available cabinets are built; square top, tapered base to funnel media, viewing window with replaceable window, light, glove holes, etc. My question is this: as far as the blasting gun and equipment, how do the cabinets work? Is it basically a "blast out of the bucket" system with the bucket being on the ground under the cabinet funnel catching the media and recycling it into the gun over and over or is there another way? Also, I would construct the cabinet out of blatic birch plywood. I am assuming that the media looses quite a bit of velocity once it hits the item being blasted and that the walls of the blast cabinet do not get too badly hammered. Do you think the plywood would wear out too quickly? I'm guessing that even if it wears it would be years and years before I had to do something about it. I could cut sheet metal and line the cabinet, but this seems like an unneeded step.
So to help me get the best set up how about listing your dream specs, keeping in mind that I don't need to blast very large parts (though building a larger cabinet is no more difficult than building a smaller one). I'm interested in hearing your thoughts on:
-cabinet size
-blast equipement (which gun, nozzles, etc)
-access from a hinged top, door(s) on the side or both?
-foot pedal or trigger?
-anything else you wish you had

Thanks everyone!
John Miller