Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

South From Ft St John (The Alaskan)
Forum Index -> Stories Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Riff Raff
Shivering Sambian

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 9:19 pm    Post subject: South From Ft St John (The Alaskan) Reply with quote

It was the summer of 1986.
I had completed my first year of University and had got a job with Unocal at an oil production battery just north of Ft St John in northern British Columbia. I was a summer student, so I spent most of my time doing menial jobs like painting piping and pigging gathering system lines. I would also relief operate for operators who were on holidays. As the job was a camp job, we would work eight days at ten hours a day and then get six days off. On my days off, I would travel back to Calgary, or to Vancouver or the Interior. I was 26 and single and I would just take off wherever on my days off. In 1986, I had a 73 Sunroof Super Beetle. I had the obligatory eight spoke aluminum wheels, offset decklid and sway bars. It was not a speed demon, but it was a good little car that got me where I needed to go. I had bought the car off a buddy of mine. When he bought it, it had the hideous MacTac fake wood dashboard. When he pulled off the MacTac, it revealed the word Tedy written in grease pencil. Whether it needed it or not, the car already had a name, so, Ted it was.