Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

my 74 bug build with pics (long)
Forum Index -> Reader's Rides Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
doorpz
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:13 am    Post subject: my 74 bug build with pics (long) Reply with quote

I've been hanging around now for a few years learning what I can, storing up information and I thought I'd post some progress pics on my build.
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

I bought my 1974 Standard Beetle back in 2003 for $2500. My dad found it for me in Kansas and my little brother drove it up to me Idaho, where I'm stationed in the Air Force. The previous owner had done a semi restoration on it but the quality wasn't all that great. The body is in pretty good shape but there are a few rust spots in the wheelwells and the engine bay. The motor was a stock 1600 that seemed to run well at first. After a couple months though I began losing power and overheating and after some troubleshooting and an eventual motor tear down it turned out the #3 piston had melted down. At the time I was still learning the basics of the ACVW engine so I was hesitant to build a motor myself so I had a local bug shop build me a motor. I wanted to go with a mild bigger motor at the time so they suggested a 2026 (73x94) with an engle 110, stock heads, weber 44's, and a bugpack collector with j-pipes and a hideaway muffler.

While I was waiting on the motor I did a little interior work(stereo, gauges, new shifter and some match painting), undercoated the wheelwells, took the bumpers off, and rust proofed and painted the engine bay.