Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

70 Squareback needs motor...w/pic
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
dailydrivervw
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:52 am    Post subject: 70 Squareback needs motor...w/pic Reply with quote

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

I've been using an oval bug as my primary car for 2 years. I need more room, and also need to pull a tiny trailer for my son's hobby needs. I just about stole this Nevada 70 squareback in excellent condition. It has no rust anywhere, that dark spot on the back edge of door is one of those rubber parking lot bumpers(I haven't seen one of those in 40 years!)

The bad: someone ran it knocking until the #4 rod destroyed the case, crank, cam, etc. I live in a hilly area and even with a 1600 in the bug, I need 2nd gear on my road. So I'd like more pulling power. I have a new set of 88mm but don't know if that would overheat in a T3, even if I reshim them for stock compression and use "cool-tins"?. I'm most likely going to drive this car for years, so I'd like to hear some opinions. I'm not a newbie as far as builing cars & trucks with modern drivelines, and can handle fabbing & machining.

I searched Samba for motor swap pics like Subaru but it looked like that motor is too tall to use the stock engine lid? or was that just because that pic was turbo? It was a fastback hotrod.

If that won't go, what's needed for a T4 as far as using VW injection? I would like to use FI vs carbs, as many years ago, a friend lost 3-4 mpg by switching to 67 carbs on a 70 fastback.