Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

More about Vanagon Rust...
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bubs
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 3:38 pm    Post subject: More about Vanagon Rust... Reply with quote

Hi,

Maybe I made the wrong choice buying a Vanagon? I am a high school student, and having a 2nd car is out of the picture, and I will have to drive it in the winter. The van did have two rust spots, one in front of the right rear vent and the other one on the left side on the side "skirt" panel. The van has been mainly sitting, since we are waiting to drive it more until the weather gets nicer, and yet the rust spots seem to be getting bigger? Maybe I am just paranoid, but I need to find a way to keep this otherwise rust free van from becoming a typical northeast van with holes in the floor.

What I need are some things I can do to keep it from rusting up; other than not driving it in the winter? I need to keep seam rust from happening and also keep rust from happening on the underbody.

What is the best undercoating I can buy, and how can I save my van from seam rust? Please help me.
CF
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the best thing to do is use por-15 for everything .for the seam rust there are ways to slow it down. all seam rust comes from the inside out.in other words a small piece ot seam sealer crcked to let the water in .now for soome of the camper that u will find are on the drivers side lower seam which is from the outlet gaskets cracking.another one is the fiberglass insulation which acts like a sponge.but don't regret the vanagon.you are young and have all the time going for u .
Witless Joe
Samba Member