Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

VIN Plate Location?
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Leight86
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:43 am    Post subject: VIN Plate Location? Reply with quote

Hi i've recently purchased a 1973 bus which is an "L" plate. I have read a few things about the vehicle tax exemptions for vehicles manufactured before 73, but I cant find the Chassis plate to confirm its actual date of manufacture.
I've found the M plate I think?and the plate that starts "SAB" but no Chassis number?
Its a 1600cc air cooled, Think it was also a panel van because theres no walk through.
Sorry if I've missed anything as I am new to all this.
If anyone could point me in the right direction it would be a great help Cheers
Leigh.
Blaubus
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

since the euro bus didnt use the type four engines in 73, then i would assume the ID number is stamped in the same place as the 68-71 american issued 1600cc bus, which is- between the engine and the battery stamped into the body sheet metal. you should also have a plate behind the passengers seat? at least thats how it is here in NY

and what is an L plate?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Leight86
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi sorry an "L" plate is just the registration number of my bus.
There are no stamps or plates in the engine compartment apart from one that starts with SABTVR......
Its possible it could have been painted over or removed in the past.
There is one behind the passenger seat but i thought that was the m codes to state the factory extras?
Cheers.
busdaddy
Samba Member