Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Replacing the front clip on my bug?
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Body/Paint Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
kjbtsi
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 7:56 pm    Post subject: Replacing the front clip on my bug? Reply with quote

I need to replace the front clip on my 66' bug, but I kinda want to do it myself as well as the rest of the body work. The front clip is the only major repair that I need to do. I just need some help on how to go about this. I'm not very experienced in body work so any tips and pics would be great.
blarneyman
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How bad is the damage to the front of your car? Could you post some pics?
andk5591
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just broke down and bought the 61-65 Bently manual. Has more than you want to know about doing this......
"John's car" 64 VW woodie - The first ever
Maxine 61 Cal-look bug - Cindy's daily driver.
Max - 73 standard Beetle hearse project - For sale
66 bug project - Real patina & Suby conversion
There's more, but not keeping them...
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Gallery Classifieds Feedback
kjbtsi
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try to post some pics as soon as possible. I was trying to bang it out myself but I'm not sure its salvagable?
andk5591
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just an fyi - there are some decent quarters and patch panels available. Getting ready to replace passenger front quarter, apron, spare tirewell and the front section of the drivers side ( bumper bracket area).