Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Noob to the scene, here's My 67 Standard...
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Forum Index -> Split Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
dfusion001
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:18 am    Post subject: Noob to the scene, here's My 67 Standard... Reply with quote

Well, I have been visiting and visiting the site for a few months, specially after I got my 67 Bus. I'm totally new to the Aircooled scene, but have always loved VW and specially VW Buses.
Here's the story. I real good friend of mine JohnERodz he lived across the street from me and bought a bug bout 7yrs ago. He started the rebuild process and I would see him working on it from time to time... He got real busy and had little time so he sold it...years passed and he moved from my neighborhood and so did I. Like a year ago i found out he went to go see the bug he sold and the guy he sold it to GAVE IT back to him cause he couldnt finish it either! So JohnERodz hauled it back and got serious with it!
Its been a 7yrs process with him restoring his bug on his days off from work.
One day JohnERodz calls me and tells me he's gonna go to Tallahasse to a friends place that has a lot of VWs and parts. So he goes and when he's there he spots the 67 Bus. He takes a picture and sends it to me and tells me that the owner is willing to sell it. When he told me the price I told him I would love to buy it but i told him I knew nothing bout VW's Aircooled.
Well JohnERodz has had bout 3 Bugs and is a professional welder (Welding Rodz Fabricators) and said that he would help me in putting this bus on the road again! So I got a trailer and headed 2 weeks later with my friend JohnERodz and my friend Steve to Tallahasse to get that bus in Jan, the weekend of my anniversary lol!