Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

So what do I/don't I have here? ('63 Notchback)
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
///Mink
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 6:29 pm    Post subject: So what do I/don't I have here? ('63 Notchback) Reply with quote

I recently acquired a Ruby Red 1963 Notchback. I've been playing with VWs for over 25 years now, but this is my very first Type 3! Some of you may be familiar with the car from previous threads here and/or the classifieds. The PO wanted to do a 1.8T conversion and slam it but was convinced not to by many of you. None of that will happen on my watch, the car will remain stock and will get a mechanical rejuvenation immediately and eventually a cosmetic one, too.

However, I'm a total Type 3 newbie and really don't know what I do/don't have here. The car seems pretty complete and original to me but I'm sure it's missing some things I'm not aware of. It also came with some parts that I don't recognize, due to my T3 ignorance.

First, a couple of the car itself. It's relatively rust free, but will need new rear pan halves:

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Next, the engine. I'm pretty sure this is a later engine based on the oil cooler and exhaust, but it still has the sidedraft carb (although someone hacked off the ends of preheat tube). Also, I think the muffler/heater boxes might have come with the newer engine?

Here are some extra heater boxes that came with the car. They look different than what's on the engine (are these '63 originals?)

Finally, some random things that came with the car.

Do these connect the fan housing to the heater boxes? What are all the extra connections for?