Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

I Need Help with L-Jet / AFC Fuel Injection Topic FAQ
Page: 1, 2, 3 ... 32, 33, 34  Next
Jump to:
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
borninabus
Samba R&D Dept.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:09 am    Post subject: I Need Help with L-Jet / AFC Fuel Injection Topic FAQ Reply with quote

it's long overdue, folks.

poor guys over in the T3 forum are having to answer LJet questions because we don't have a topic.

while i'm no FI expert, i am fairly competent and confident working on the system.
there are a few of you out there that know this system in & out (you know who you are) and should frequent this topic to help the uninitiated out.

i suspect i'll be in here answering AND asking.

the only "special" tools you will need are a volt/ohm meter (multimeter), a simple test light & a 50 or 100psi fuel pressure gauge.
you should also know that the T1 & T2 AFC systems are essentially the same.
but the T3 & early T4 (like in a T4 car) are not the same system. they use DJet; MPC FI.

those who seek help should start here:

first, YOU MUST RULE OUT ANY AND ALL OTHER POSSIBLE PROBLEMS
such as: vacuum leaks, fuel supply, ignition, electrical, compression, valve adjustment...etc...etc...etc...
just like a carburetor you must make sure every thing else is as it should be; or else you are just chasing your tail.
GOT IT?

Then, and only then may you proceed:

VW AFC Troubleshooting Guide
In this guide you will find a step-by-step problem solving process designed for the VW technician with a working knowledge of the system.
I have this book and it is dirty Wink

If you don't know what a potentiometer is you should start here:

AFC Training & Troubleshooting; AKA: LJet Explained.