Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

EMPI rear disk caliper
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Maxmorita
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:29 am    Post subject: EMPI rear disk caliper Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new to VW.
I have 74 STD bug, installed EMPI rear disk with e-brake last year.
It is leaking fluid now, I'd like to replace with better quality caliper.
Do you know what kind of caliper to get?
I just don't want to buy EMPI caliper anymore.
Thank you for your help.

Max
owdlvr
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To my knowledge neither Empi nor Topline make rear disc brake calipers. They simply package a caliper made by Varga or similar into a kit which includes the mounting adapter, hardware and other items you require. The Empi kits I have purchased used a Varga caliper for my '69, and a caliper without logo stamping for my '71. This is no different then a bazillion replacement calipers I've bought over the years for various vehicles. Sometimes they're stamped with the manufacturer (Varga, ATE, Girling, etc.) and sometimes not.

I have yet to see a caliper with the Empi logo cast into the body of the caliper. Knowing the casting and machining costs of building a caliper (I used to work in the performance aftermarket) I'd be Shocked to find a company like Empi producing their own.

The rear disc brake caliper commonly used in late model Beetle kits is the Varga caliper found on some Ford models. In some notebook, somewhere, I actually have the year and model number of the vehicle so that I could order rebuilt calipers at my local autoparts store.