Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Triple Karmann Ghia Restoration Project
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Ghia Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
profpetrof
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 7:36 am    Post subject: Triple Karmann Ghia Restoration Project Reply with quote

Hi All,

I am a Mechatronic Engineer from Cape Town, South Africa. For the past few months I have been looking for a Karmann Ghia restoration project. Little did I know that I will end up with three. The previous owner of the vehicles does not have the time to complete either, and I negotiated purchasing all three. Herewith a brief overview:

1966 Karmann Ghia Body and Pan
The body was sandblasted sometime in the 2000's to be finished off, but was left outside to rust. There is a matching pan, but no engine, and no gearbox or interior.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

1967 Karmann Ghia Complete
The owner stopped driving it due to an oil leak, removed the engine and parked the car under a shade, and it's been standing ever since. The vehicle is complete, with everything in place.

1966 Karmann Ghia Complete Restoration 60%
The owner started restoration. Body stripped and repainted. Engine professionally rebuilt. Pan stripped and repainted. Complete set of brand new rubbers. All interior and trim in boxes, detailed logs of restoration in hand, down to the labeled bolts.

I have purchased all three, and are in the process of moving everything to my garages. Luckily I live on a farm, so I have plenty of space.

The overview restoration process I was thinking of is as follow:
1. Have the rusted body sandblasted, repaired and painted. Place in dry storage for a later day (2015-)