Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Finally purchased my first Vanagon....WOOHOO!!!!!
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
KDI_CUSTOMS
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 6:48 pm    Post subject: Finally purchased my first Vanagon....WOOHOO!!!!! Reply with quote

I finally purchased my very first vanagon today! I am super excited!!

The vanagon is a 2wd 86 Tintop and is a pewter color. IIRC there are 136k miles on it. It has some body damage where it was backed into a pole and there is rust around the rain rails and some other places. The interior needs a redo, but thats not a big deal for me considering thats what I do for a living. The van isnt pretty, but Im looking more for functional right now anyway. Future plans once in driving condition are to get some lowering springs, rims, and a roofrack. If this motor goes out, Im going for an ABA motor swap.

I found it sitting in a field near a junkyard I was visiting last weekend while hunting for MK1 parts. My girlfriend (who loves getting her hands dirty w cars) and I stopped and I asked if it was for sale, but the owner was out of town until Monday. I got in touch with them this past week and made arrangements to check the vanagon over. He told me it had been sitting for about 2 years but it was running when it was parked. The reason it had been parked was due to a frozen clutch pedal (van is stuck in neutral). Owner said he was driving it and it popped out of 4th gear and then the pedal locked on him. When I called yesterday to arrange for a look today, the owner told me that he actually pulled it from the weeds and fired it up.