Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Summer Project Car
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Island Bumpkin
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 9:41 pm    Post subject: Summer Project Car Reply with quote

Well I've been lurking around here for a while doing some reading. For a long time I've been wanting to get a Baja bug, but my mom was against it (I'm 17.. parents can still veto car purchases Laughing ). I finally was able to buy one, and I trailered it home today. I'm new to volkswagens, but I'm not new to mechanics. I'm elbow deep in a frame off restoration on a '79 F250, and I'm doing it all myself.

Anyway enough of me and onto the bug! I bought a '71 standard beetle with a 1600 dual port out of a later model Mexican Beetle. Here's the rundown of the purchase

-71 standard body
-1600 DP
-Electronic ignition conversion
-Vanilla fiberglass rear fenders
-One piece tilt front
-Fresh powdercoated rear cage and front bumper

And the very long list of parts I got in no particular order..
-Carpet kit
-Headliner kit
-All new window gaskets
-Leather bucket seats
-Grant Steering wheel
-Full aluminum interior panel kit
-Short throw shifter with quick reverse
-Full array of digital gauges
-New wiring harness
-10 gallon spun aluminum fuel tank
-New pop-out window trim
-And much much more in a box that I can't remember this time of night Rolling Eyes

Anywho, here's the plan. I'll be getting this car slammed out by the end of summer, and it will become a daily. So that should tell you it's not going to be a crazy build like some of the others. It'll be a mild mannered driver with the toughness to take to the dunes in Eastern Washington if I so desire.