Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

1960 beetle ignition wiring question
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
ssumners
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 5:31 pm    Post subject: 1960 beetle ignition wiring question Reply with quote

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

This Beetle needs some electrical help and I am not an expert. The engine will turn over but with the key in "run" position there is no voltage to the coil. Referencing the ignition with 3 leads the 9 o'clock(30) position is to the battery, 3 o'clock (15/54) is straight to the coil and 6 o'clock exits up and to the right in a larger bundle of wires - to the dash? Is there another wire that should go to the ignition? In "run" position there is continuity between 15/54 and 50. Can someone post a picture of a similar ignition they believe is wired correctly?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
nlorntson
Crazy VW Lady

PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

9'oclock (30) should be going to the fuse on the far right (as in the direction of travel) side along with a wire to the headlight switch that then heads back to the regulator and then to the starter (30). I don't see that the 30 wire is connected to the fusebox in your picture. That yellow wire nut is bypassing this connection it looks like

15/54 wire goes to the next fuse to the left and then back to the coil (15). I don't see that it is connected to the ignition (I see it loose). That yellow wire is not right.

50 wire goes directly to the starter (50)

Have you had a look at the wiring diagram here:

and the key is here:

both are found in the wiring section here: