Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

alternator issue
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
cyberhog05
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:25 pm    Post subject: alternator issue Reply with quote

Im new to vw bugs, I have a 1960 with a sp 1600 swap with an bosch alternator.

Heres my issue...Parked it for the winter with everything working fine, went out the other day and I didnt notice my gen light come on when I went to start her up. So I have no charging system. Checked the bulb and it looked ok but to be safe I put in a working bulb with no results. The alternator has less than 3k miles on it. At first I thought the belt was slipping because it was so loose but after tightening it up I still have no juice. On the d+ side there is nothing coming from it as far as voltage.

What should I be looking for? Is my alt toast? please post a link if you have one that can help me. Im on my phone till I get home so searching etc is a PITA. Thanks!!
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Classifieds Feedback
Harleyelf
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote