Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

New Guy Alert... Should I Buy This Beetle?
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Potsie
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:04 pm    Post subject: New Guy Alert... Should I Buy This Beetle? Reply with quote

This is my first post here, please excuse my ignorance. I'm looking for my first Beetle and found a '71 Super Beetle that I'm interested in. I have limited knowledge of the mechanics of these (or any) cars, but I know enough to see that there are some issues with this car. I was hoping some members could give their opinion on whether these issues are serious enough that I should not buy this car.

The good: the car runs well, shifts well, drives straight, doesn't shake, has very little rust, etc...

The bad: the hoses from the fan shroud to cool the exhaust system are completely missing. The holes for them are not even plugged, and the seal between the engine and exhaust compartments is not correctly in place. So, the engine and exhaust have not been getting properly cooled, and there's no heat in the car. There is a slight exhaust smell inside the car. The heat levers that should be by the parking brake are also missing.

The other bad: the air box is sitting in the back seat, and the carb is just open with no filter. The "dealer" is a crappy trailer in a parking lot and they have no idea how long these two things have been like this.