Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Explain it like I am 5
Forum Index -> Body/Paint Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
mango-smoothie
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:08 pm    Post subject: Explain it like I am 5 Reply with quote

I'll just jump into this. i would like someone to please explain the steps required to go from panel replacement to two stage paint.

all my panels that required replacing are now replaced. (no need to explain welding, etc - everything was butt welded properly - i just am lacking knowledge of the steps to get to paint)

i have seam sealed the back side of the welds and fiberglass (short strand) the front, sanded and polyester filler applied. I'm about 70% done the sanding and my mind is turning to primer, sealer, etc.

obviously i am no expert, but i do consider myself competent and certainly willing to learn. I've never painted a full vehicle before and i will likely be taking this to full paint (or i might get someone to actually shoot the paint, but i am doing everything up to that)

so...

please explain what i do after the filler and rest of the body is completely sanded at 120 grit.

(i have a suction 1.4mm gun and was going to pick up a HVLP 2.3 for the primer. i have a big air tank, compressor, dryer, DA and board sander. )

thanks Very Happy
Thrasher22
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After just finishing the first and likely only car I'll ever fully paint, I'd summarize it to:

1. Block to at least 220 grit
2. Mask
3. Clean with Wax and Grease remover and tack cloth
4. Spray with high build epoxy primer
5. Block everything to 400 grit wet
6. Repeat steps 2 and 3 until satisfied (with prep step in between)
7. Paint per manufacture's specs
8. Color sand (optional)