Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

'74 914 - how to restart engine after few years
Forum Index -> Porsche - 911/912/914 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
krisgreenbug
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 9:40 am    Post subject: '74 914 - how to restart engine after few years Reply with quote

I just got a '74 914 that has been sitting for a few years. I am completely new to it. Had few beetles in the past but never one of these. I Want to start with checking if the engine is worth anything. Obviously I am not planning to just attach battery and crank it - what would be the best approach to start re-start it safely? I will post some pictures later.
raygreenwood
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2014 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That really depends on your time and abilities and what you plan to do with this engine if you get it restarted....and how it was stored ...and what the ambient conditions are for where it was stored (humidity etc.).

For example if the engine is in over all really good shape and if you are looking to drive it quite a while...like a couple years...before undertaking a detailed overhaul, you would want to do as little damage as possible on the start up.

The method I would use is a little tedious but it will not only preserve whats there if its worth preserving...and at the same time tell you if its worth saving or starting over.

Again...it depends on if you have some work space, time and ability.

I am just going to assume its fuel injected. Fuel system first
drain and clean tank
replace fuel filter
replace lines that are hard and old
flush system from gas gan with pump running and this will also test the pump
new injector seals
check and fix every vacuum line and seal.....no vacuum leaks of any size allowed