Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Money hungry liars
Forum Index -> General/Chat Share: Facebook Twitter
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
daisy71
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:25 am    Post subject: Money hungry liars Reply with quote

Im outside one day working on my 71 super, when a guy comes up to me, the guy says "Im looking to sell my 66 bug, it has no engine and needs paint but it's solid with no rot and has a clean registration" he said he would sell it for $800 and I told the dude that I was interested and asked when I could check it out, he told me in a week because he needs to move it around his shop. I wait a week and call him he says "I just started painting a car and its gonna be about a month until you can see it". Rule 1 of trying to sell your stuff, don't try to make it seem like your doing the buyer a favor, granted my super has just been retired for a resto and id really like something else to drive but still. So one month later I see the car listed on craigslist and here on thesamba so I called him up cause I really liked the car. He says ok and to come look at it, so I do. I get to his house and this guy has probably over $80,000 worth of cars in his yard between old dodges a few other vws (karmann ghias type 3s etc.) and a bunch of other stuff. So im looking at the bug and I first check the pan, the whole front suspension beam was rotted through, I pointed it out and he said "theyre only $400 new anyway" ok... so now I check the interior which is pretty complete except for rugs and the seats needed to be upholstered but that dont matter much to me. There is rot in the drip rail twoards the back and the cowl under the truck and once again, rotted to hell. I tell the dude the problems and reluctantly say that Ill