Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Needing some help with restoring a 1968 vw Bug
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mistshade
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:36 pm    Post subject: Needing some help with restoring a 1968 vw Bug Reply with quote

I am currently a student at school in illinois and my project car is my parents 1968 vw bug. It has been parked for about 3 years since it stalled out in front of a semi so im trying to get it to running smoothly again. When i got it on the lift at school i saw on the rear right axle boot was leaking fluid. I have looked on multiple places and some are saying just replace the boot. Others say there is a seal that needs replaced. So i am extremely confused on what parts other than a boot that i should buy.

It is a swing axle, disk brakes front and back. So overall i am curious on what parts, other than a boot of course, that i should get to start getting this bug back on the road.

Thank you,
Brenden Smile
60ragtop
Bonneville Belt Bitch

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the boot is torn, replace it and clean up the area. Then you can see if you have other leaks.
Certified Hunter Wheel Alignment Master Technician 1986

tasb wrote:
I've restored a large number too, but I don't toot my horn quite as loud.

sb001 wrote:
maybe he just snapped cause his car sucked Wink
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
BugMan114
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote