Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

First bus - 71 deluxe
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
sgbdoe
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 6:48 pm    Post subject: First bus - 71 deluxe Reply with quote

Hey everyone,

I have been lurking on this site for a long time now, and decided it was time to finally buy a bus. I found this one, and decided to get it. I'm completely new to everything, but I think I can figure things out as I go.

The bus has a couple bad rust spots, but aside from those it is fairly decent (I think). The guy who owned it before the woman I bought it from built a custom interior that's alright, but I hope to buy some original seats at some point. The engine runs well (mostly) and has lots of new parts. Brakes and transmission are good.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Rust:
-Rear right corner

-Left side rocker

-Other rust is minimal and doesn't look as bad. Those spots look like this:

When we went to look at the bus before purchasing, we took it to a mechanic to get an idea of what needed work. The ride there wasn't smooth at all; the bus was sputtering the entire way. The mechanic pointed out that the fuel in the fuel filter was a dark brown color and we learned about rust in the fuel tank. After this, we took the bus to a VW shop to have them fix that and a few other things, but all they did was change the filter. After a couple days of driving around, the fuel in the filter has gone from clearish yellow to brown again.