Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Loss of power
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
hank22015
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:08 pm    Post subject: Loss of power Reply with quote

I have '68 and experiencing intermittent loss of power and stalling. I am new to the Beetle thing but did notice just after it stalled when rolling into a parking lot the fuel filter was almost bone dry. Should there be air in the filter or should it be full of fuel. Perhaps I am having fuel issue. Any advice would be appreciated. Also, I noticed that my fuel gauge has been dropping and rising at random. Perhaps the issues are linked?
ashman40
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The fuel filter is not a reliable "gauge" for anything. I have seen my filter appear empty when fuel was actually flowing. And on the opposite end, a nearly full filter but a stuck inlet valve preventing any fuel from flowing.

Where you have the filter placed and how high it is relative to the fuel level in the tank/lines can effect the fuel level in the filter.

Even an apparently "clean" filter could be dirty and in need of replacement. The best filters are the solid metal canisters that you cannot see thru. You install them below the fuel tank or next to the transmission and change them every year.
'67 Beetle #1 {project car that never made it to the road Sad }
'75 Beetle 1200LS (RHD Japan model) {junked due to frame rot}
'67 Beetle #2 {2019 project car - Wish me luck!}
hank22015
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:46 pm    Post subject: Loss of power Reply with quote