Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Indexing rear end to gain ground clearance?
Forum Index -> Kit Car/Fiberglass Buggy/356 Replica Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mike Sal
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:52 am    Post subject: Indexing rear end to gain ground clearance? Reply with quote

Where can I find a detailed "how to" on re-indexing the rear end of my '70 bug chassis? I need to gain 1.5 inches (going from a 29 inch tire to a 26 inch & don't want to lose ground clearance). I'm new to working on vw (they aren't like my Studebakers) & would like to study up on it before making a mess out of things.

I've already found some Thing front spindles to take care of the front of the car.
thanks,
Mike Sal
LeeVW
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's an excellent how-to article:

http://manxclub.com/Resources-Tech1.htm

This page shows you how to achieve specific amounts of lift or drop by turning the bars:

http://vw.zenseeker.net/Wheels-TorsionBars.htm

Lee
Mike Sal
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:21 pm    Post subject: Indexing rear end Reply with quote

Thanks for those links. They seem to be focused a little more on the swing axle style rather than the IRS. Can the same procedure be used without removing the swing arm?
thanks,
Mike S
LeeVW
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote