Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Timing issue
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
cb747
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:10 pm    Post subject: Timing issue Reply with quote

Hi all first post here and I am completely new to bugs Smile I have a quick question. Would the engine run if the firing order was wrong as in #3 firing instead of #1. I got the car non running and hasn't run in years. I got it started but it runs like total crap which is to be expected.
gt1953
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Obtain service manuals before proceeding. That way you will be able to set up the timing valves carb etc.

72 type 1
72 Squareback
({59 Euro bug, 62, 63, 67, 68, 69, 73 type ones 68 & 69 type two, 68 Ghia all sold})
Randy in Maine
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you know how to confirm that the engine is ready for #1 to fire (and not #3) by looking at the valves as you move the crankshaft around TDC?
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Keithinky
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Randy in Maine wrote:
Do you know how to confirm that the engine is ready for #1 to fire (and not #3) by looking at the valves as you move the crankshaft around TDC?

Cb747,

Randy asks an important question. You don't want to be kinda sure- you want to know and check it then confirm it. It will save you a ton of headaches and head scratching. (I finally followed this advice Laughing )