Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Oil sump stud replacement
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Klammydia
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 9:29 pm    Post subject: Oil sump stud replacement Reply with quote

I post this in fear of being told to do a search. I have done much reading and have a pretty good idea of what I need to do. Being a novice I'm a little nervous and just want a little motivation before I start tomorrow. I did my first oil change on my own some months ago and when I went to do it again found the threads on one stud or possibly the nut are stripped. I think I've safely concluded it's not the one connected the the sump bracket inside. I've also come to the conclusion that the engine casing is not stripped there because I marked the stud and the nut spun but the marking therefore the stud didn't move positions. I think at this point I just need to use my bolt extractor back out the stud and loctite the new stud in place. I've also seen almost every post have some comment referencing using step-studs and less recommended Helicoils. So is it really as simple as I think it should be or am I in for a doozy.
Bret2094
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the stud itself is not moving, then just take the old one out and replace with a new stud and nut. Not too complicated. Bought a few engine cases a while back that were missing some studs. If the new stud screws in place just fine, you can then back it out and apply loctite for a final installation and then add your new nut and be on your merry way.

Heres a discussion from the past.
http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3...p;start=20

And a place to get the studs