Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

1776 Sand Rail - Weber DGAV vs. Zenith 32NDIX P010?
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
DavidWymore
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:05 pm    Post subject: 1776 Sand Rail - Weber DGAV vs. Zenith 32NDIX P010? Reply with quote

I have both carbs...I'm a pretty good wrench, 4x4 background and I also run a machine and welding shop. I am new to VWs, I've been reading up a lot.

The progressive is newish but needs jetting and is missing the secondary idle jet and holder entirely. The Zenith has been sitting for a long time, but at least it has a good offroad air cleaner with spun aluminum hat instead of the junk K&N box cleaner that's on the Weber. The good cleaner is going on whichever carb I choose.

I have two manifolds, the one on the engine with the Weber is aluminum with heat cross tubes not hooked up (yet), but it doesn't have heat to carb. The one on the zenith is chromed steel, only has one boot on one side, other side is solid. No heat tubes. My understanding is either get the heated manifold and hook the heat tubes up to the header properly, or jet it pig rich with either carb. Ideas/suggestions/prefences/input much appreciated.

I have a thread on the whole buggy over in the offroad forum as well.

Thanks
RailBoy
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would use neither carb of intake...

If you want to keep it single carb, go with a Dellerto DRLA 36 on a Reline Intake.. They make the best single carb intake and the description is below is why...