Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

1967 Euro ignition switch question
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
tcflame
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 6:15 pm    Post subject: 1967 Euro ignition switch question Reply with quote

Hi all. As I am new to the VW family I'm still getting familiar with certain things. I bought a 1967 Euro spec Beetle (my first) and the owner told me that because of vandalism she had to replace the ignition switch. it was installed in the dash but the original is in the column and it does not have a steering lock either.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Can someone clarify for me if an ignition switch in the column is correct for this Euro spec vehicle?
I THOUGHT - the ignition switch was supposed to be in the dash and I was surprised to find it in the column when I went to see it.

Any input is appreciated
Eric&Barb
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Column lock is the ignition switch all in one.

Check out the "Technical Bulletins", especially the series "Z" section here:

http://www.thesamba.com/vw/archives/manuals/techbulletin_index.php

Shows the earlier model.
vdubmyk
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote